Gays in the Military

Question:  Is it true that repealing the ‘Don’t ask, Don’t tell’ law will only make it more difficult on gays in the military?  I’ve heard that the repealing of that law will set things back to where it was prior to the new law and that the military will be able to ask and deny your service based on that.  It seems that there are a lot of assumptions that the repeal of the law will open the door for gays.  Are you sure?

First of all, the actual definition of homophobia is so wide-spread that it covers everyone and probably includes homosexuals on some level also.

Next, other than the above statement, I do not see myself as homophobic because I am not afraid that I will become homosexual and never plan on becoming one.  I don’t even understand why straight girls like guys except that God made the puzzle pieces fit that way.  Further, I am not afraid of homosexuals trying to do any kind of harm to me based on their sexual preference, though they may get mad at me because of my thoughts on the subject.

The church tells me that I don’t need to agree with their philosophy or opinions on homosexuality, but I need to care for them as people regardless of their preference.  I can agree with that.  The church doesn’t require me to vote in favor of gay marriage either because that would be against the churches philosophy on marriage and homosexuality.

As far as gays in the military, one day I was listening to MPR (Minnesota Public Radio) and they had a speaker saying that the homosexuals should be allowed openly in the military.  I called in with my argument that if that is the case, then all tents, dormitories, bathrooms, showers and other facilities should be co-ed.  I didn’t stay on the air to respond to his argument that there is a code of conduct when it comes to the military.  I agree that there is a code of conduct, and equal rights are equal rights, and fair is fair.  It’s all or none.  The code of conduct only applies to actions that you take and things that you say.  It doesn’t apply to seeing what’s in front of you.  You can’t avoid seeing things that you like or hate when it’s placed directly before your eyes.  The only way to prevent this is to take away the sight of every military member.  Since so much of the military is based on being observant, this will not work.  If the gays get to see what they want, I want to see what I want.  The guest of the show also said that after a hard day of work in a combat zone, all he wants to do is get back to his barracks, take a shower and get past the days events.  There isn’t a member of the military that will ever spend every day of their career in a combat zone, and unless you are only in for one enlistment, you will probably never spend more than 50% of your total time in a combat zone.  Most of your time will be in training, or doing your normal military job stateside or in a friendly foreign zone.  I’ve spent almost 29 years in the military, and none in a combat zone (not that I didn’t expect it at different times) and I don’t believe that the gay issue will come up that often but it probably will be an issue as each enlisted member goes through basic training and tech school immediately after basic. These are the people that we should be the most concerned about as they are the most impressionable and will be going through things that need every type of support that exists without having homosexual contact of any kind to be thrown at them.

About rossmeister

Husband, Father, Have Cats, Philosopher on World Issues, Future Author, Aviation Technician, Hate Snow and winters longer than three months. If you want to argue a point with me, pretend that I'm a judge in a courtroom, and you need to tell me the facts as you know and see them so you can argue in the attempt to win your case. There are no guarantees that you will win, but your chances are better if you use this method.
This entry was posted in U.S. Government. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gays in the Military

  1. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything. However imagine if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website could definitely be one of the greatest in its niche. Good blog!

    Like

  2. Some really nice and utilitarian info on this web site , also I think the pattern contains fantastic features.

    Like

Leave a Reply

